First Snow


These were taken in Incheon, South Korea and it was the first time I have seen real snow, EVER. I’ve seen freezer snow and fake snow but this was real and it was beautiful. It was only -6 deg Celsius and I was quite surprised at how bearable it was outside with the right clothes.  Unfortunately it wasn’t falling while we were there but like a child, I really enjoyed my first experience. 

“Snow was falling,
so much like stars
filling the dark trees
that one could easily imagine
its reason for being was nothing more
than prettiness.”
— Mary Oliver

19 thoughts on “First Snow

  1. Hi Norma, I am so glad you enjoyed your first snow experience and I hope that someday you get to see it fall. The poem reminds me of when my in-laws from Texas visited us in Ohio at Christmas. Snow in Dallas is so rare that when it started snowing on Christmas Eve my father-in-law suggested that we wake up our little boys to come see the snow. We said noooooo way. There’ll be plenty more this winter, and I’m sure there was. 🙂

    Like

  2. A new experience! South Korea doesn’t strike me as the most likely of places to find snow. despite the grim winter here in the UK, we have had no snow at all where I live. It’s a topsy turvy world we live in these days.

    Like

Your thoughts and comments are appreciated

